hardstill.blogg.se

How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook
How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook












how do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook
  1. #How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook software#
  2. #How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook professional#
how do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook

But as with so many other things, you typically get what you pay for, so look at the company’s portfolio and speak with some of their author clients before retaining the firm. You can locate less expensive services through.

#How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook professional#

With a professional service you should expect to pay in the hundreds of dollars to have your book set up, formatted and converted from a Word DOC to a mobi or ePub file. Pricing is either per book or based on the number of words.

how do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook

For best results it should include links to each chapter in a table of contents that’s formatted to meet Amazon’s specifications listed here.Īnother option is to pay one of the many digital publishing or formatting companies that offer the service of converting a Word file to the digital format of your choice. I’ve used the Mac version and it works very well if your Word document has no page numbers.

#How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook software#

You can do this using the free software Calibre (available for PC or Mac). Let's say you have written your book in Word and want to convert it to mobi. However, in my experience it looks better if you start out with a mobi file because any formatting you create – for example for images, charts and tables – stays intact. You can upload your book on Amazon using other formats as explained on the Amazon site, including ePub, which is the most popular one (that’s what Apple uses), and others such as HTML, Doc, and RTF. Unlike most other digital retailers, KDP uses the format known as “mobi.” This is simply the file format for digital books that Amazon uses, and it works on all Kindle devices. Authors get royalties of 35% to 70% of the sale price, depending on whether the book is sold on KDP or through another Amazon service called KDP Select (more about that below). This service, known by the shorthand KDP, enables indie authors to sell the digital version of their books on (or other Amazon country websites). Here are five Amazon services, all of them free to set up, that every indie author needs to know about. It gives us the tools to create and sell digital books print and sell paperback copies on demand add author pages and even market books. In addition, I’m averaging about 700 digital downloads per month, which net me $2,870.Īmazon’s suite of services for independent authors makes it possible for me and many other authors to bypass traditional publishing companies. Typically I sell 70 to 100 print books per month, netting around $400 per month from that version of the book. I also now sell paperback copies, which Amazon prints as orders come in, accounting for 10% of my book sales each month. That’s more than double the number of downloads of either of the previous two books during the first four months of publication. Sales during the first four months exceeded 4,000 downloads. I also signed up for distribution through Bookbaby, but didn’t promote those avenues, so I noticed little or no sales.Ĭurious about Amazon’s services for independent authors, last year I listed my third book, Everything I Know, for sale exclusively through their website. My second book, Be Awesome at Online Business, I sold exactly same way. In the following guest post he provides a roadmap to the various Amazon services that have liberated authors from traditional publishers. His upcoming book, The Good Creative, due out June 4, explores 18 traits of the world’s most interesting and respected creative professionals. He’s a web designer and author who has self-published four books, including Everything I Know, which between the print and ebook versions sold a total of 4,000 copies. I'm one of them (see my post, “ How My Book Became A (Self-Published) Best Seller ). Various tools for self-publishing have taken down these barriers for authors who prefer to go it alone. If they didn't ship the package back to you unopened, they would either send you a form rejection letter or make you a lowball offer. Most would grumble that your idea would not be likely to make a lot of money, or that it sounded “more like a magazine article than a book.” At this point you might abandon the project or, if you were really persistent, send your proposal directly to publishers. Then you might contact a bunch of agents to see if they would be interested in pitching your book to major publishers. First you would have to spend weeks or months writing a book proposal and sample chapters. Not so long ago, the first hurdle for an aspiring book author was to get past the gatekeepers.














How do i add kindle on mac to my amazon list for a textbook